Traveling

So here I am, on the road, missing LS and Mr. B as I always do when I am away, when who should sit behind me on the flight but a father and two children.  There’s nothing to make me miss my kids more than sitting in front of a father flying with his two children (maybe four and five years old) by himself.  Jealousy set in immediately.  Now, just to clarify, flying with children is in no way easy.  Our kids have done pretty well on airplanes** in the past, but it is unpredictable and the eye-rolling and whispering of the childless is ever-present.

**Everybody’s favorite sports writer, Joe Posnanski has a well-established writing style where he puts his asides in asterisks, which are now commonly referred to as “pozsterisks.”  He apparently approves of people copying this writing style since he himself stole it from David Foster Wallace, who I feel like I had heard of, but was quite surprised to find was a modern figure.  Anyway, the first time we flew with LS she was an angel the whole flight.  Almost.  She slept for 3 hours, and then woke up when the pilot announced final approach and ordered us back to our seats.  LS, being a baby, promptly had an enormous blowout and screamed for the last 20 minutes of the flight.  We were faced with the sudden and unpleasant choice of a)Changing her diaper in the seat, exposing the entire plane to toxic fumes, but quieting our daughter down or b)Letting her go on in misery, screaming.  We thought b) was the lesser of two evils at the time…I’m not sure I’d make the same choice today.**

Anyway, about 10 minutes into the flight, when the kids behind me started screaming, I think I was the only person on the plane wishing I could switch places with this father.  I found myself just laughing the whole flight as these kids seemingly lived entire lifetimes on the five hour flight.  They would go from giggling to crying to screaming within minutes, as children are wont to do.  After the plane landed one of them shouted “Isn’t it AMAZING that the plane is driving along the ground?!”  The other child immediately started crying.  The fellow sitting next to me turned and said “makes me glad that mine are old.”  All I could think was “I can’t wait to see them!”

Girling just started a blog which has inspired me to give this a go.  I wrote a recruiting blog for some time, but essentially gave up when Blogger stopped supporting ftp feeds because I didn’t want to go through the process of moving it over to a different service.  I will try to liven it up with photos at some point, but this is what we’ve got for now.

Leave a Reply

