Black Bean Burgers

I love to cook, but like my post yesterday, will sometimes forget how I made certain things when I’m not following a recipe.  So last night, Erin said that she was having somebody over for a play date tomorrow.  Nothing unusual, but she was asking if I had left enough elbow macaroni so she could make macaroni and cheese for the girls.  I assured her that I had, and she mentioned in passing that the mom that was coming over was on a gluten-free diet.  Erin wasn’t sure what to make for her.  I suggested black bean burgers since I had some black beans in the refrigerator and no more tortillas with which to make burritos (I realize I could just make the tortillas, but that’s besides the point).

After some initial hesitation, she acceded and let me make them.  I scoured the internet for an idea of how to make them, then went to work with the ingredients I had at hand.  In case they are good, I’m saving the recipe for posterity.  If they stink, then I can know how to not make them in the future.

Ingredients (makes 2 burgers):

1/2 can black beans (give or take)

2 tbsp or so finely chopped onion

2 tbsp or so finely chopped carrot

1 Egg

2 tbsp or so of ground Flaxseed (I never measure things, which is a big mistake for replicating recipes, I just dumped some in when I was cooking it)

Olive Oil

Spices (I used garlic powder because I didn’t have fresh garlic, oregano, cayenne pepper, and black pepper)

Directions:

Heat 1 tbsp or so of olive oil in a frying pan and saute the onions and carrots (and I would do fresh garlic here too if I had had it) until done.  Add drained black beans to the frying pan.  Add spices.  Mash up the black beans with a fork right in the pan, turning frequently.  Add Flaxseed and mix it all up with a spatula or whatever.  Then flatten it out to make a little volcano for your egg.  Beat the egg really well in a separate bowl and add to the volcano, then turn the black bean mixture in on the egg, mixing it all up.  You’ll be left with a big blob of black goo, which I flattened into little patties and put in the refrigerator.

The plan is to pan fry them in olive oil, but I’ll have to wait and see how that goes because Erin is going to be doing that today while I’m at work.  I think that I should have mixed the egg in separate (rather than in the pan).  If I were making these with gluten I would have added a small amount of flour or cornstarch.  I’ll post an update once I hear how the eating of them went though.

**UPDATE**

The playdate was cancelled and I ended up eating the burgers.  They were really good, although I didn’t have a bun, which would have enhanced the experience.  I will definitely be making these again.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by FatMan on December 3, 2010 at 10:59 am

    So how did the burgers come out? I.e., feedback from cook and diner?

    Reply

    • Posted by elkboy on December 3, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      They were great. Much more stable than my last effort (I could pick them up and handle them without them falling apart) and delicious.

      Reply

  2. Posted by FatMan on December 4, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Patent it!! Whoever comes up with a delicious and nutritious veggie burger will become a bazillionaire!! The world needs it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

