Diet Dr. Pepper

I am addicted to Diet Dr. Pepper.  I blame my mother.

I’m comfortable with my addiction, however.  I used to drink regular coke; 8 cans every day.  Yes, 8 cans of regular coke every day.  It was worst when I worked at Lawson Software in Downtown Saint Paul.  They had soda machines that had soda for a quarter.  How could I resist?  As I began to pack on the pounds, I looked around for an alternative and ended up at Diet Dr. Pepper, which packs a caffeine punch without that gross aftertaste of Diet Coke/Pepsi.  It’s very strange being a Seattle native who does not drink coffee, but I still have more than my share of caffeine.  Now the Aspartame, who knows…

The problem has come with the move out to Vashon Island.  In Minnesota, it was pretty easy to get a 12-pack of Diet Dr. Pepper for somewhere between $3 and $4.  At that rate, my addiction was not terribly budget-busting.  However, the regular price for a 12-pack at our local Thriftway (which I love, by the way), is $7.49.  SEVEN FORTY-NINE!  It was recently on sale, 2 for $11, which is better, but still not great.

Lo and behold, I get an e-mail from Amazon Fresh trying to lure me into their grocery delivery service.  I had already looked into the service, and they don’t deliver to Vashon anyway, so it wasn’t even an option.  They do, however, deliver to my office in Downtown Seattle, but I’m not going to cart groceries across Puget Sound on the passenger-only boat.  But the e-mail…

Amazon Mom: Enjoy $75 off your first order at AmazonFresh.com

Well, I was sold.  So I just placed my first AmazonFresh order.  Eighteen (18!) 12-packs of Diet Dr. Pepper, delivered to my office for $4.48 per 12-pack.  I paid $5.60 for the order, or about 2.5 cents per can.  Needless to say, I am very excited.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by abby hartman on January 11, 2011 at 8:50 am

    I too looove DDP. Just make sure when they deliver to your office they leave a path for you to get in and out. Or you might find yourself drinking your way out 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by FatMan on January 11, 2011 at 9:28 am

    After reading your post, I was going to order a carload of Q-Tips, but then found out that Amazon Fresh isn’t delivering to MN yet.

    Your post reminds me of a story my dad used to tell. Years ago, a guy who worked at my uncle’s service station used to drink Coca-Cola all day long. Someone said to him:

    “I’ve heard that stuff’s addictive.”

    He answers, “Naah. I drink a case a day, and it doesn’t bother me a bit.”

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rod Blower on January 11, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Yes, your mother is to blame. She got 4 big cases of Diet Dr. Pepper at her going away party. If she would have known that she would have left years earlier.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Phyllis Blower on January 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    So how do I get in on the Amazon action? Not admitting anything, but perhaps I need this for years and years of accumulated mom-guilt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

